Facing Cancer
Shopper's Drug Mart
Forums

You are here: HomeForum Home → Forums → Introductions → Thread

Hi from northern ontario

Photogal

I have been recently diagnosed with invasive ducal carcinoma. I am having surgery on Thursday May 1st and getting more anxious. I am scheduled for a lumpectomy and sentinel mode biopsy.
I was in shock when I found out but had this gut feeling about it all, I have had lumpy boobs all my life nod had even had a cyst previously. When I first found this lump I thought “oh just another cyst” but had this nagging voice in the back of my head saying you better get it checked!
I am a healthcare professional and always had my mammograms in fact just had one 6 months ago and it was clear. So off to the dr. I went and he sent me for a ultrasound than I got called back for a core needle biopsy, and that was not a pleasant experience! Next was the the news of the pathology report.
I am finding the waiting for the surgery getting to me now, even though everything is being done quickly. I also work at this same hospital and know most of the staff and doctors which in some ways is a comfort but in others there is not much anonymity!
I have never been one for journal writing but have bought one and started writing it seems to be therapeutic for me now.
Looking forward to this forum and the support it will bring!

Posted 2014 04 26 - 10:29
DianaS

Hi Gadgetgirl. I am glad you found our community.  I think you may be interested to read our Bothsides blog by Alex Ginty - she’s also a healthcare professional (a doc) and was also diagnosed with breast cancer. I’m sending you loads of good thoughts for a smooth surgery on Thursday.  Please let us know how you make out.

C.

Posted 2014 04 28 - 09:39
riding shotgun